CEO Message


The Tobago Hospitality and Tourism Institute (THTI) was founded in 1997 to address the need for trained professionals in the growing tourism and hospitality industries in order to compete in a globally competitive market, alongside other Caribbean islands. In 2006, THTI fully implemented the Caribbean Tourism Organization’s (CTO) Caribbean Tourism Learning Systems (CTLS) Core Curriculum programme. This allowed the alignment of courses with those taught at other institutions throughout the region. The curriculum enables students to seamlessly transfer between tourism training organizations, and more importantly, offers a wider, range of opportunities for employment.

In 2009, THTI became the first indigenous Tobago institution to be registered with the Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT). In 2014 THTI was awarded Institutional Accreditation and re-accredited in 2019 for an additional 5 years. Presently, THTI is among the list of approved and accredited educational institutions and the only ACTT accredited hospitality and tourism institution in Trinidad & Tobago.


Why is accreditation important to you?

The granting of accreditation status means that THTI has been evaluated and found to meet or exceed Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT) criteria of educational quality. It also means that THTI is a GATE approved institution. Our Associate degree graduates are able to further their studies anywhere in the world. We continue to improve our standards as we seek to fulfill our mandate to the tourism and hospitality industry. To find out more about accreditation, please visit


To be the beacon for innovative learning experiences.


THTI exists to provide unparalleled, diverse educational opportunities and empowerment while expanding and strengthening partnerships.

Board of Directors

  • Alison Williams (Chairman)

  • Levis Guy – Obiakor

  • Carlos Waldron

  • Shirley Cooke

  • Agnes Murray

  • Kristel Washington-Thom

  • Alvin Pascall

Management Team

  • Stephen Sheppard – Chief Executive Director
  • Joanna Moses- Wothke – Dean of Academic Services
  • Nadia Lewis MBA, BSc – Manager of Financial Services
  • Jacqueline Panda – Manager of Human Resources
  • Keymer Whitlock – Manager of Maintenance
  • Chantelle Melville – Manager of Library Services
  • Trisha Bacchus – Manager of Restaurant Services
  • Jecoliah Mc Intosh – Manager of Quality
  • Bernadine Thomas MSc, BSc – Dean of Student Services

Human Resources

The Tobago Hospitality and Tourism Institute (THTI) is a training institute for the tourism and hospitality sector in Tobago. Its mission is to develop the human resource capacities for the tourism industry, by providing relevant programmes and courses, being a repository of information for the industry, using high quality teaching staff, state-of-the-art infrastructure and facilities, and providing quality service within a professional and hospitable environment.